Dealing with Anxiety Through Prayer

Originally Posted July 20, 2015

A couple of days ago, someone I love very dearly was rushed to the hospital. I was 1300 miles away driving home from vacation and because I had absolutely no control and very little information, my anxiety shot through the roof. My initial reaction was to cry and consider the worst. My secondary reaction was to lean on God.

After I checked in at a nearby airport, I had several hours to wait before I could board the plane. Anxiety threatened to creep in at every moment of inaction. The more idle my mind became, the more anxious I was. So I decided not only to keep praying for the situation at hand, but to focus outward and pray for others.

About once a week on Instagram we do a prayer photo where people can request unspoken prayers (if they don’t want to divulge any details, but they’d like prayer) by liking the photo or they can comment on the photo with specific requests. So while I sat in the airport, I prayed for everyone who liked or commented on that picture. I spent my time asking God for miracles that only He could provide. And guess what, my anxiety came to a screeching halt.

I can tell you that by the time I boarded the plane, I was at a great deal of peace about the situation and I know that it was because I was able to spend those hours talking to God on behalf of myself and so many other people.

Have you ever tried dealing with anxiety through prayer? It seems like a simple concept but one that we can tend to overlook. My challenge to you is to keep a prayer journal starting today. Write down the people and situations you think need prayer and then when you become anxious about life, start praying through your journal.

Rejoice always, pray continually, give thanks in all circumstances for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus. ~1 Thessalonians 5:16-18

With Love & Light,

Crystal

Leave a Reply

