Do Good Without Growing Weary

Originally Posted August 24, 2015

“And let us not grow weary while doing good, for in due season we shall reap if we do not lose heart.” ~ Galatians 6:9

How many times do you start doing something that you think is good, great even, just to grow weary and give up? Probably more than we want to admit, right?

When I was in middle school my best friend ran track. She encouraged me to join emphasizing that it was more than just running, it was track AND field, and I would definitely have no problem as I was relatively athletic as a volleyball player. So I joined thinking I was going to be competing in long jump, high jump, sprints, etc. Never did I imagine that I would have to run long distances, that was for cross country runners, right? Imagine my surprise when on the very first day of practice, during the very first warm up, we were instructed to start running and not stop until the coach said so. UMMMM….

This was the first time in my memory that I quit something.

In Galatians 6:9 Paul instructs us to not grow weary while doing good because we will reap the benefits in due time if we don’t lose heart! What a bold and motivating scripture. Sometimes doing God’s work is HARD. Getting up in the morning, putting a smile on our faces, reading God’s word, treating others with love, it’s all HARD at times. We tend to reach a point of exhaustion when we can’t see the finish line. But GOD holds the finish line and He holds our hands. It’s easy to give in and give up, to grow weary and lose heart, but I promise you if you continue the good work, fighting the good fight, you will reap the rewards!

Press on, my friends, press on.

With Love & Light,

Crystal

Leave a Reply

