My Perfectly Imperfect War Room

Originally Posted September 6, 2015

War Room Closet

As you already know, I love the movie War Room. Like LOVE love it. So naturally I wanted to make my own war room in my home.

When I started thinking of where I’d have my war room, I just kept coming back to a place below our stairs in the basement. Our 1900’s updated farmhouse doesn’t have much for closet space, nothing anywhere near the beautiful closet in the movie, but the thought of being in the basement on the cold concrete with spiders meandering around made my skin crawl just thinking about it.

War Room Closet

Though I struggled with the idea of battle-worthy prayer in such a distracting environment, under the basement stairs was really the only private space that was set apart from the rest of the house. So I decided to make a trip to Target about an hour away to pick up some things to make it a more prayer-worthy nook.

My list was the following:

  • Rug to warm the cement floor I’d be sitting on
  • Pillows to rest against the cinderblock wall so I would be more comfortable
  • Table Cloth to cover up the ugly IKEA end table we’d had for ages
  • Pretty Curtains to cover the area and make it more private
  • A nice new lamp so I could see what I was writing and whether a spider was about catapult at me
  • A new Bible – to start fresh
  • A pretty journal
  • Some nice pens
  • Tape to hang prayers/pictures/etc. on the wall

Target, as many have experienced, is a place where you go in for milk and end up coming out with over $100 worth of odds and ends. But this time Target was a place where I anticipated spending much more than $100 but left without spending a dime.

As I was walking through the store, up and down the aisles, every time I came to something I had listed out, a voice in my head whispered, “Don’t you have something at home that will work?” The longer I spent walking around, the more that whisper turned into a shout of urgency, “WHY ARE YOU STILL SHOPPING INSTEAD OF AT HOME PRAYING!?!”

Visions flashed through my head of men and women praying on the battlefield, in a halfway house, on a cot in a jail cell, and on the streets while their feet froze, and I realized it wasn’t about having the perfect war room, it was about using the war room to PRAY.

An hour later, I was home gathering supplies for my war room from the boxes in our basement: a moving blanket in place of the rug; an uncovered IKEA end table; an old shower curtain; a lamp that my girls had grown out of; an old Bible, journal, pen, and tape. After vacuuming the spider webs and inspecting that there wasn’t anything about to crawl on me, I sat down for a solid half hour and prayed. And guess what, it couldn’t have been any better.

War Room Closet

War Room Closet

War Room Closet

I encourage you today to create a space where you can pray in private. It doesn’t have to be perfect, it can be a perfectly imperfect war room like mine – a place where you can gather your thoughts and pray like you’ve never prayed before.

And if you haven’t yet seen War Room, go see it today. Remember if you see it before the end of the day today (Monday, September 7, 2015) and you email us a picture of your ticket stub you will be entered to win a War Room gift pack as well as receive 25% off your first (for new subscribers) or next (for current subscribers) ilybox. Email the picture to ilygoxo@gmail.com and enjoy the movie!

With Love & Light,

Crystal

Leave a Reply

